Why I Am Choosing Not to Read The Cursed Child

To begin, I would like to make it clear that I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I have read all of the books, seen all of the movies multiple times, and been to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter twice. Needless to say I am a big fan. Not only am I a fan of the story of Harry Potter, but I am a big fan of JK Rowling, which is why I cannot read The Cursed Child.

As much as I love Harry Potter and he fact that they are continuing his story and really delivering to the fans I cannot make myself read this play. What makes Harry Potter so utterly fantastic is that it is his story being told by an amazing author, JK Rowling, and it is centered on the perils of a young, brave wizard. The Cursed Child is not written by JK Rowling, so that immediately turns me away from the book. And the book is basically about, from what I’ve heard, how terrible Harry’s life still is. No fan wants to hear about how terrible the life of a character who has been through so much sucks. We want Harry to get his Happily Ever After. But I haven’t read the play, so I have no idea if he does get his happy ending when the play is over. Another reason that I refuse to read this play, is that it’s a freaking play. A play is meant to be seen not read. You cannot possibly get the same effect with a script as you can with a full fledged book. The last reason is that as much as I want another Harry Potter novel, I also really don’t want one. The story, to me, is absolutely perfect. That being said I cannot wait to read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which is written by JK Rowling. I am going to read that book because although it is not about Hogwarts and Harry’s story it gives a perspective of what was before Harry Potter which sounds absolutely magical .

So, to conclude, I will not be reading The Cursed Child. I do not want to ruin my view on Harry or any other characters in the novel. I love the world that JK Rowling has created and do not want it to be tainted. But, I also do not think that Rowling would allow a terrible book about Harry to be delivered to her fans, so if you are willing I think you should give it a try.

If you haven’t read the Harry Potter series, consider joining the humongous fan group and buy it here

If you do want to read The Cursed Child, buy it here

If you cannot wait to get your hands on Fantastic Beasts, pre-order it here

P.S: As much as I love Harry my favorite character is Neville 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

